Baleal Surf Camp Peniche Portugal

 

peniche surf video of the week


Peniche Baleal Surf & Area Photos
Kai Otten surfing Cantinho / Baleal, 23.10.2014
Kai Otten surfing Cantinho / Baleal, 23.10.2014

 
Surf Holiday Testimonials and Reviews

Do you want to stay with us and know what former and returning guests have
experienced at Baleal Surf Camp? Read their reviews to get more
information. Also find more insights on our Fanpage on www.facebook.com/Balealsurfcamp

If you have spent your surf holidays with Baleal Surf Camp and
want to tell the world about it, feel free to write a review just
below.

Read Reviews of our Guests
Write a Review about your Surf Holidays
Older testimonials from Baleal Surf Camp's Guests

Scroll down if you would like to write a review on our website.
 

We have used a number of surf schools in the Baleal and Peniche areas for our smallish children over the last 3 summers. I decided in Summer '10 to try a different surf school as safety and convenience are priorities for us and I came across found the Baleal Surf Camp after an internet search - I was impressed with the website which immediately put safety of children in surf lessons as a priority ( as I was not surfing but at the shore I needed to be completely confident the children were safe) and I was also very impressed by the fast response and complete flexibility by Bruno and his staff in accomodating our varying degrees of experienced little surfers ( who had no experience in some cases) and always handling the size of group which changed over the summer as people came and went with extreme professionalism. Apart from the fact that the children and adults who tried surfing actually learnt to surf they were treated with such care and kindness by all the instructors whether they were teaching them or not. They were like a little club and everyone who works in BSC is just genuinely interested in everyone who picks up a surf or body board. Every child was made to feel really special whether they got get up on the board or not or whether they just wanted to lie on their boards and they were always made to feel like it was fun. The school is in a good position on the beach so the grown ups/other children who are watching don't have to lug bags of gear miles up the beach and are close enough to get a coffee and still see the surfing. There is a cafe as part of the school which serves good basic food, coffee, ice creams etc I don't surf but I am really happy that my children under 10 take off down the beach with 'their friends'( the instructors) and have a very healthy, independent hour or so in the water. I recommended the school to a number of other families who all had similar experiences and we will be using the school again next summer. Cliona Sherwin, 07-12-2010
Kid surfing summer 2010 - Baleal Surf Camp - Peniche, Portugal


We had an awesome time at Baleal surf camp!! The instructors Steven, Miguel and Daniel were great and very motivational. We are now ready to take on the surf back in Tasmania!! Thankyou for the memorable experience and i can't wait to do it all over again someday.. =D Aleida & Laura 26-11-2010


Stayed there first week of November and was surprised how good the weather was. Always a place to surf for all levels, mine is beginner. The Surf lodge was quality and everyone there was laid back enjoying the days roll by. The surf camp was really and the instructors were very knowledgeable about the area plus the obvious of surfing technique. Amazing week shame I had to go back to work cheers guys and will definitely be back soon in 2011. Machinegun Brothers ;-) 24-11-2010


I wanted to thank you and your staff for the very nice surfing time I had last week in Baleal. Especially liked the good vibe from Steven, Daniel and Miguel and the lovely weather in Peniche. Even when there was only small group of people surfing, we had an unforgettable good time. Hope I will be able to return again to Peniche in 2011. In the meantime I’m trying to convince my friends to visit Baleal surf camp sometime to experience the  good time of surfing.

Warm regards and take care, Rob, Holland 16-11-2010

Had a great week.......really nice gang of permanent residents and people over for the week or whatever.............thought the yoga and surfing was a really good combination..........did the yoga early in the morning ( at 8) which at first I didnt like the sound of but actually was perfect.

 
I really liked the way everything worked in a really laid back kind of way .... the shared house, the kitchen if you wanted to use it, meeting up at the surf house, could walk everywhere, the pick up at the bus station ( they forgot us but worked out grand!),  really handy flight and transfer to peniche, lifts over to the surfing championships.........
 
The lessons were great ...the teacher Joao was really good and the small group ( the yoga people did the lesson separately) was great.....
 
They threw in a free massage which was a nice touch.......they charged €10 for a taxi to the bus station on the way back which seemed a bit out of whack with the price of everything else......overall though very reasonable holiday.....  
Deirdre, Ireland 04-11-2010

 


 
We had an amazing time and well up for doing it again.

The crew in Baleal were so helpful, friendly and well organised. A great thanks to Daniel, Bruno and Marcos and ofcourse a massive shout to Louis our instructor. We thought it was a great mix of theory, practice, culture and of course fun.  I have to admit 4 days of surfing was enough (I might need to work on my fitness) but I could have stayed a whole lot longer. Renee, Ireland 03-11-2010


I was at Baleal for a total of one week and what a week that was! :D everyone was extremely friendly. the people at the house got along great with each other and the surfing was amazing! I had never been on a board before and although i still need some improvement, I had the best help available from the instructors there. they always motivated me to push myself more and that moment when you stand on your board for the first time is the best feeling you can imagine:) Isabel, 12-08-2010
Isabel and group at Baleal Surf Camp - Peniche, Portugal


Please post this on your site.

We stayed at Baleal Surf Camp for six days at the end of June, 2010.  What a terrific holiday.  The people were incredibly friendly; the prices reasonable, and we loved the fact that we could walk back and forth to the beach from our apartment.  No buses, and all of the equipment you need waiting for you as soon as you walk in.  Our instructor Filippe was perfect -- very patient with our children (ages 14, 12, and 9) and a great instructor.  The kids were all very sad to leave, and are already begging to go back to see our new friend.  Baleal Surf Camp is owned by two brothers -- Marcos and Bruno -- who were extremely professional and friendly.  Thank you.  Bar do Bruno was the perfect place to hang out between surf camp lessons to eat great food and talk with all of the friendly workers and students.  We highly recommend the place to anyone who wants a unique and relaxing holiday.   Submitted By: Bill, USA 05-06-2010


A actividade foi muito fixe. Gostámos muito dos professores Bruno, Luis, TurKo, Gabi, Steven e o Ricardo  porque explicaram bem tudo e ajudaram a deslizar na prancha.
Gostámos muito de estar com a nina.
Conhecemos amigos novos e trocámos os números de telemóvel.
Ao almoço estivemos todos juntos e no fim a professora Gabi deu-nos bolachas e um gelado.
Muitos abraços e um beijinho à nina.
Gostávamos muito de repetir.
Foi um dia muito feliz e fixe
Obrigado
Xau
Rodolfo  e Cristiana

 


Best holiday ever!!! Great experience for my first solo trip abroad. The house was really homely, the weather was fantastic, the beach was stunning and the surfing was brilliant despite the many wipe outs!! However, the best of all was the people I met. From the amazingly patient instructors, Luis and Stephen, to everyone who worked in the office and the other guests staying at the beach house...you made my week. I couldn't have asked for a better time so THANK YOU very, very much :o) See you next year!! xoxo Edel, Dublin. May 2010
Edel Quaile, crew and friends May 2010
 


 


Florian a@ Carnival 2010 at Baleal Surf Camp Peniche Portugal
Hey Guys, I would like to thank you for the great times I had staying in the baleal surfcamp. Me and my friend stayed there in the beginning of the season (mid february). We had great waves everyday, cool people in the camp and most of all fantastic surf instructors and Bruno and Marcos were off the hoood:) Also memorable was the carneval in peniche. People were dancing on the street in strange costume the whole night. We really had a blast. Florian Plachesi 11-04-2010

 


 

 

i visited baleal surf camp back in september, and i was immediately surprised at the profesionalism, friendliness and courtesy of all the staff i met. the accomodation at the cocktail house was really comfortable and clean and only a 5 min walk from the beach. but it was the staff and the instructors that will keep me coming back to BSC for years to come. i did the intermediate course with fellipe, who was a spectacular instructor and one of the most stoked people ive ever met, he was very encouraging, knowledgable and freindly people ive ever had the pleasure of surfing with. it felt like we were always surfing with friends and at the end of the day, when all was said and done everyone would chill and have a beer, or one of thelmos awesome mojitos just like being at home with your friends. awesome job guys and thanks for everything, ill see you all again soon. Lee 13-01-2010


This was my second time in Baleal and my second surf camp.... (you may guess that I loved the first one) What to say ..... mmmmh: 1) If you don't surf TRY IT ..... a single surf camp is sufficient to become addicted 2) A special thank to each member of BSC which was very, friendly, professional, and helpful 3) I've never seen a surf competition before this trip ..... some times it may seem slow and boring .... BUT WHEN THERE ARE BIG WAVES IN SUPERTUBOS .....IT'S AN AMAZING SHOW p.s: This time I came to my accomodation by bus and i must say that public transport from Lisbon to Baleal is cheap and efficient I suggest you to do the same.
Paolo, Italy 26-11-2009 


Hi All! Had a fantastic time last week and just want to thank everyone for making it such a fantastic time. The surfing is great but BSC is much more than just that. Met great people and learned lots about surfing - not just standing on a board! Thanks again and I will hopefully return soon:)
John, Ireland 06-10-2009


This was my second time i came round the camp. My first week last year was amazing in itself, so i decided to come 2 this year. 1 week was not enough, not only for the learning curve of the surf, but also leaving the place after 1 week (or more) after considering it your second home already, it is hard to leave without being cold hearted about it. This year, it all exceeded my expectations. I felt taken up in the Baleal family. The set up is just right, and i wouldn't know how they can do it possibly better. For one of the 2 weeks, I brought along 9 of my friends this year, all first time surfers, and it was amazing to watch them grow and how they were all patiently taught the joy of surf. Quality is definitely the word here. As for myself, as part of an intermediate group, i didn't only progress in just riding the waves under 'supervision' of amazing teaching, i felt like i was just surfing amongst friends. The teachers allow you to learn on your own tempo but are also keen to show and learn you about the next door you can open. I felt, being in this set up, surf opened up something. I definitely want more ocean and surf in my life and i think i will to commit to it in the long run. I believe that's the camp's ultimate goal : letting the students feel their connection with the ocean and pass it on. A lot of thx to the man with "Surf e vida" as his life motto for doing so! Ewald, 30.09.09


Ehi guys!!! Marcos, Bruno and all the staff of my amazing vacation: thanks a lot for all!! I'm sorry to didn't say you goodbye in my last night, but I was a little bit busy and I didn't have the time to come to Bruno's bar to meet everybody. You gave me one of the best experience I never had and I'm sure we will see again. Luiss, Philippe, Aquaman and all the instructors I had in my 3 weeks gave me a big passion for this sport and I hope I'll succed in grow it. So, good wave to everybody and see you soon! Ciaoooooooo!!

Costanza from Rome
25-08-2009
Costanza "going for it" in Baleal Surf Camp!!


I had a really great holiday. Ideal location, not too touristy but still lively with all the other surfing folk around. Beach was fantastic and the surfing was ideal where we were for beginners. The classes were very good I thought, just the right balance was gained between instruction and letting you do your own thing if you wanted. The additional information on techniques and info on types of waves and rips/safety etc was also well put across which i definately appreciated.
 
I couldnt have asked for anything more with the beechhouse and the accommodation. Right beside the front and everything you need for relaxing with good food and cheap beer!!
 
I have absolutely nothing bad to say, for the price it was just perfect and id definately consider going back to the same spot again.
 
All the best and thanks for everything.
 
Declan, UK 19-09-2009


Hi Marcos 

I just wanted to write to you and thank you for a great week in Baleal at the surfcamp. Anders, Stig and I had a great time both in the water and on land and the Cocktail House was a nice place to stay. Don't be surprised if we come back some other time.
 
Thanks again
Are, 29/07/2009


 Awesome as one would expect from checking out their website!!! But it's even better then what is shown on their website! Lessons are so much fun, and the location is great for visiting other areas! And just a little warning everyone there is super sexy, so watch out!!! Stelios and Anne Canada/Norway/Greece 20/07/2009
Stelios and Anne super styling in Peniche


Hey,

 

Just thought I would send a quick email to say thanks again for a great week of surf and instruction. All of the team were very kind to us, and Turko was a really good instructor and nice guy.

 

Thanks again

 

Rob, Nick, Mark, Joe (from England) 14/06/2009


Thanks guys for such a great week at the end of May! Luis, your teaching was excellent and I've definitely been bitten by the surfing bug! And big thanks to Marco, Bruno and Andre for being great hosts. The BBQ was great and you were always friendly and helpful. Your camp rocks! I'll definitely be back again some time.
Simon, Australia. 12/06/2009


 


 

Hi guys!

Sorry I stole your key. I also tried to steal Bife but he refused to get in my backpack :)

Thanks again for such a fun week! Luis and Silvano were excellent teachers, and the surfhouse felt more like a home than  a hostel. If any of you ever come to Vancouver you're invited to a BBQ at my house!
Vanessa, Canada.
15/05/2009


Hi all!!!
First of all I want to thank you for the fantastic week we spent in your camp..
everybody agrees that it has been simply perfect.
Of course I will be visiting you again, hope it will be soon!!!
Then, I send you a link to an album where I loaded some of brendan's and my pictures, including the one with the complete group that everybody asked me..

once again, thank you very very very much...

who knows, maybe we will meet again in autumn...

cheers..

michele, Italy
13/05/2009



I just want to tell You that we all appreciated the course very much, and we were all impressed by Luis skills as an instructor. Since we all are older fat it-consultants we never thought that we would be able to stand up on the boards… J

So once again, thank You very much for an quick introduction to surfing, and I hope to visit Your surf school again in the future.

Regards

//Örjan Bredberg, Sweden
11/05/2009


I couldn't rate the place highly enough. It really is incredible how it caters for all tpes of surfers  from me an absolute beginner to your full-time surfers. The hostel is fantastic and all of the staff: Marcos, Bruno, Andre and Luis were brilliant. Baleal beach and Peniche are both fantastic places to stay and I will without doubt be booking in again before the end of the summer. It's just brilliant for anyone interested in surfing as if the staff were'nt already great at giving advice the other residents, many of whom had been there for their 3rd visit, were practically surf Guru's for their willingness to give advice.

Thanks again,

Niall, UK
01/05/2009


Had the most amazing time in Peniche it was beautiful the surf was wow even got up on the board a few times!! Was going to even try the super tube!!!
What really made the holiday was the people i met and Marcos and crew could not have been nicer guys and for that reason alone i will defo b going back.
Thanks a million for one buz of a holiday,
Orla, Ireland

30/04/2009


The time Brandi and I spent at Baleal Surf Camp was unforgettable! First, our lessons really paid off! With patient help from my surf instructor, I progressed from the white water to surfing unbroken waves. (Hawaii, here I come! haha.) We had fun out of the water too...sunbathing, picnicking at a vineyard, climbing fortress walls in Obidos, touring the Fatum surfboard factory, barbecuing at sunset, and (after a few Sagres) dancing at the local bars! In just two weeks there, we met many new friends (from all over the globe) at the Surf House and the welcoming staff became like family to us. We can't wait for a reunion! Sarah & Brandi, USA
28/04/2009

 


Thanks to the boys at BSC, Had a great couple of days, great location, great house, awesome vibe. I probably should have hung around those extra few days for the swell... Next time! Tim Austin, Australia
27/04/2009


 


 What a sick place! We loved every minute spent at the camp...the Surf House, the Team and the beautiful peninsular made our trip one to remember. Thanks to the wonderful Bairros brothers and their team of surf instructors(Luis and Andre) for making us feel so welcome and at home. I'm already thinking about my next trip back there! All life comes from the ocean-get back to the womb! Kyles and Jules xxx
20/04/2009


Hi Baleal Team, Thanks for: - Great Surf - Good Food - Cool Sagres - Reliable Airport Transfer - Awesome time CU latest next year, Jan, Switzerland
18/04/2009


¡¡Holaaa!! He pasado unos días geniales. He disfrutado mucho del surfcamp y sobre todo de las personas tan estupendas que están por allí. Recuerdos para Bruno, Marcos, Pedro, André, Luis, ... Francis. Cáceres, Spain
14/04/2009

Festa Pascoa 2009 - BBar


Hi Marcos,
 This is Silvie, we all left yesterday :(

 I just wanted to write to say thank you for such an amazing week, we had an
 incredible time!
 I wish it could have been for longer.

 The service, the lodgings and lessons were great and will def be coming back
 and telling people about it.
 Thank you again, you all did such an incredible job and now im addicted to
 surfing!!!!

 Please could you also forward my email address to Bruno, thank you.

 Big hugs to everyone, we miss you all already!!
 Silvie Koanda , UK


Hello Bruno!
Swedish family here, save back in Sweden, but we miss the Surfcamp
and all the fantastic people.
We had a great time with you and will surely come back soon.
In the meantime we'll tell all our friends about you and practice our
balance!
Best regards to all of you!
And tell Gabriella special hello from Jonna!
Thankyou!
Janca, Martin, Mikka, Joel and Jonna from Sweden



Rrriina says thanks to Brrruno and co. for a great surf camp! Do u know Turkos e-mail address? We did´n have a chance to say thanks and good bye to him.
 
Riina from Finland


from Norway    By Roar on 27-11-2008
"I would like to say thank you for two fantastic weeks in Portugal. We really loved the place, the people and the service."

Roar, Norway


 

thanks again    By Rich & Nik, England on 14-11-2008
Just wanted to say a big thank you for your hospitality a few weeks back for me and my friend Nik at the Baleal Surf Camp. We had a great time; caught some great waves, made some great friends and drank an awful lot of Sagres. thanks again, I don't think we would've enjoyed it quite so much if it hadn't been for the laid back and easy going attitude of you guys.

Thanks again

I'm sure we may drop by again,

Rich & Nik, England


Just great    By Dorothea on 06-08-2008
It was just GREAT! Good waves, organization, nice and friendly people.

I miss it. Work sucks....

Greez from Switzerland and hope 2 C U soon...
Dorothea

 


 

"hey guys! Great video! Very sweet memory of that summer...
Stay wet everybody! See ya!"

David Campomaggiore, Italy


 


 

Simply awesome    By Leopoldius on 16-01-2009
Heard about this camp from a friend of mine, who told me that is was simply awesome. Hoping to sign up for july with you guys. Keep smiling, keep surfing!

Peace, love and happiness!

http://www.andorff.net/gonesurfing/


"I just wanted to write you we had a wunderful time in Portugal. The appartments you arranged were great, and all the seagulls you arranged for us on the island, I'll never forget.
I appreciated the Sagres and the Super bock and I think that the Portuguese wine is underestimated in the world. It's really delicious (sanghuinal or something like it; tastes like cherries)
Turko inspired us in surfing and in our attitude to life! No waves too high for us anymore. You catch them or you don't. I'm saving hair for dreadlocks now. His way of walking I"m trying to copy to impress my boss.
We all enjoyed our stay.
Telmu gave us some nice suggestions to enjoy our stay in Lisboa. And  so we did. Oceanaria, Torre de Belem, CCB.
Adeus!
Felix, Margit, Chris, Dianneke, Albert, Holland

 


 

"Once again, it was a great week for me!!"


Gerald, Alkmaar/ Holland


Just wanted to say thank you for a great week at the Surfhouse. Also the day in Lisbon was an amazing way to end the trip, you two were the best guides to the city a tourist could wish for.
Thanks again and see you soon!

Russel French, England


Marco & Valerie, Italy

Good bye Marcos and Bruno

We would like to thank you and the whole crew of BSC for the great week spent here.
Hope to see you again.


I just wanted to send a quick email to thank all you guys at Baleal Surfcamp for making our visit to Baleal two weeks ago so memorable. Please pass on my extra special thanks to Silvano and Luis for their great lessons, their friendship, and their all-round excellence. I'm sorry that we didn't get the chance to say goodbye to them properly.

We've now caught the surfing bug in a big way, so hope to return to Baleal sometime soon. Maybe then we'll be ready to tackle Supertubos!

Thanks again,

Brendan Plant, England

 

I just wanted to send a quick email to thank all you guys at Baleal Surfcamp for making our visit to Baleal two weeks ago so memorable. Please pass on my extra special thanks to Silvano and Luis for their great lessons, their friendship, and their all-round excellence. I'm sorry that we didn't get the chance to say goodbye to them properly.

We've now caught the surfing bug in a big way, so hope to return to Baleal sometime soon. Maybe then we'll be ready to tackle Supertubos!

Thanks again,
Brendan Plant, UK.
19/05/2009

 


Die Woche in Portugal war der Hammer. Es hat uns beiden super viel Spaß gemacht, die Surflehrer waren ja alle abgefahrene Leute die für jeden Spaß zu haben waren! Genauso wie Crew von Bruno’s Bar, alle crazzzzy freundlich! Man hat sich sofort gefühlt, wie unter Freunden. Das gleiche gilt für die Jungs und Mädchen aus dem Surfhouse, mit denen wir zusammen BBQ gemacht haben und am Strand und im Wasser eine tolle Zeit hatten! Der Spot war echt ideal zum anfangen, wie ich finde - hab’s dann auch das ein oder andere Mal aufs Brett geschafft. Nochmal vielen Dank für diese unvergessliche Woche! Julian & Steffen , Germany

Write a Review on our Website




1Mb Max



Your friend email:



 



Submit